EstiMate Knowledge Base / FAQ

HomeEstiMate Version 1Error Messages & Behavioral ProblemsNetwork Initialization Failed: Permission Denied error?

3.106. Network Initialization Failed: Permission Denied error?

I had to reformat and I backed up my EstiMate data folder to CD rom and then installed EstiMate and wrote over the data folder with the backed up data from the CD Rom. Now I am getting multiple errors including Network init fialed permission denied, cannot perform this operation on a closed data set and cannot iterate the estimate table. What do I do to try to get estimate running again?

NOTE: The instructions below apply to Win95, 98, NT, 2000, and ME. Windows XP users please see alternate instructions at the end of this document.

Because the CD rom is a read only solution you will need to change the attributes of the data files so EstiMate will be able to read AND write to the data.

To do this,

1. Open windows explorer, Find your EstiMate data folder. If you are using the default path for EstiMate, it will be in the Program Files folder under your C drive.

2. Open the Program Files folder and then the EstiMate folder. Under the EstiMate folder you will find the data folder. Double - click on it.

3. Choose edit and select all. All the files in the data folder will highlight.

4. Right Click in the middle of the window and select properties.

5. Make sure read only is unchecked and click the ok button. Close windows explorer and open EstiMate. The program should open without error.

XP Users: If you are getting the error Network Initialization Failed: Permission Denied, then you will want to check the sharing properties for the EstiMate data folder. This is especially true if you are networking your copies of EstiMate.

Here are instructions to check your EstiMate Data folder sharing properties in Windows XP.

1. Right Click on your Start Icon and select 'Explore'.
2. Double-Click on My Network places and choose the directory(s)where the EstiMate data file is located.
3. Right click on the data file and select the 'Sharing and Security' menu option.
4. Click the 'Share this folder on the network' option and be sure that the 'Allow Network Users To Change My Files' box is checked. Press Apply and Press OK to save.

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful